TWiki> IVOA Web>IvoaEvents>VoscienceIAUPrague (revision 10)EditAttach

The Virtual Observatory in action: new science, new technology, and next generation facilities.

IAU XXVI General Assembly, Special Session

Prague, August 2006

We are very pleased to announce that our symposium proposal was accepted as a "Special Session" within the IAU General Assembly.

This is a temporary web page used primarily for planning purposes for the Scientific Organising Committee. In due course we will launch a proper public web page.Watch this space !



Purpose

This conference will highlight scientific achievement enabled by the Virtual Observatory initiatives, and review technical progress towards the VO vision.

Location and Date

The location for the conference is Prague, The Czech Republic. Our conference is a "Special Session" during the IAU General Assembly which runs through the period August 14-15 2006. Together with a related session on Astronomical Data Management, the VO special session covers 3.5 days in the period Aug 17-22 :

Thursday Aug 17 : pm
Friday Aug 18   : all day
Monday Aug 21   : all day
Tuesday Aug 22  : am
Tuesday Aug 22  : pm       - Astronomical Data Management

Proposal

A copy of the proposal as submitted in Jan 2005 is attached here:

Until we develop a revised programme plan and publicity material, this remains the best description so far of what the conference will be like.

Scientific Organising Committee

Andy Lawrence (chair SOC) UK al@roe.ac.uk
Masatoshi Ohishi Japan masatoshi.ohishi.nao.ac.jp
Francoise Genova France genova@cluster.u-strasbg.fr
Ray Norris Australia Ray.Norris@csiro.au
Attila Meszaros Czech Republic meszaros.cesnet.cz
Robert Hanisch USA hanisch@stsci.edu
Peter Quinn Germany pjq@eso.org
Alexander Szalay USA szalay@pha.jhu.edu
Nicholas Walton UK naw@ast.cam.ac.uk
Oleg Malkov Russia malkov@inasan.ru
Ajit Khembhavi India akk@iucaa.ernet.in
Roy Williams USA roy@cacr.caltech.edu
Giuseppina Fabbiano USA pepi@head-cfa.harvard.edu
Yongheng Zhao China yzhao@lamost.bao.ac.cn
Isabelle Scholl France scholl@isu.isunet.edu
Enrique Solano Spain Enrique.Solano@esa.int

Working Documents for S.O.C.

Planning material for the conference is on a page called VoPraguePlanning

This top level page is called VoscienceIAUPrague

Material accumulated during the proposal process is on a page called VoPragueProposalPrep


Topic attachments
I Attachment Action Size Date WhoSorted ascending Comment
Microsoft Word filedoc prague-proposal-final.doc manage 90.0 K 2005-01-03 - 15:48 AndyLawrence  
HTMLhtm prague-proposal-final.htm manage 133.8 K 2005-01-03 - 15:49 AndyLawrence  
Edit | Attach | Print version | History: r14 | r12 < r11 < r10 < r9 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions...
Topic revision: r10 - 2005-07-11 - AndyLawrence
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platformCopyright © 2008-2020 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback