Science platforms - IVOA May 2023 Interoperability Meeting

* back to main programme page *

There are two sessions dedicated to discussing science platforms at the interop.

The theme of these sessions will be to explore the state of the art for science platforms in astronomy, and to understand what the IVOA can do to support the development of the next generation of services needed to handle the increasing volumes of data available in the future.

The participants will be asked to reference three key questions about the IVOA's role:

  • What things from the IVOA worked ?
  • What things from the IVOA didn't work ?
  • What does the IVOA need to do next ?

Each of the sessions will have around 60 minutes for talks followed by 30 minutes set aside for a panel discussion.

Schedule Summary
Session DateTime CEST DateTime UTC UTC-07:00 UTC-04:00 UTC+02:00 UTC+08:00 UTC+10:00
Victoria BC/Pasadena Washington DC Bologna Perth/Beijing Canberra
Session I 9 May 09:00 CEST 9 May 07:00 UTC 9 May 00:00 PDT 9 May 03:00 EDT 9 May 09:00 CEST 9 May 15:00 CST 9 May 17:00 AEST
Session II 11 May 14:00 CEST 11 May 12:00 UTC 11 May 05:00 PDT 11 May 08:00 EDT 11 May 14:00 CEST 11 May 20:00 CST 12 May 22:00 AEST

Notes and session video recording will be linked below each session schedule table.

Session I

Time: Tuesday 9 May 09:0010:30 CEST [session #5]

Speaker Title Time Abstract Material
Tess Jaffe
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
NASA Astrophysics Platform 12' We'll give an overview of the planned NASA astrophysics science platform, particularly what it is intended to do and what it will NOT do. We'll then give a status update and describe some of the areas that connect to IVOA. pdf
Jesus Salgado
SKA Observatory
SKA science platform 12' The SKA Regional Centres Network (SRCNet) is being established to handle the massive data produced by the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) project. This network includes nodes across 16 countries. The definition of standardised federated protocols is crucial for a future harmonised network. The International Virtual Observatory Alliance (IVOA) provides adequate composition and experience in promoting interoperability. Implementing IVOA-like protocols within the SRCNet would enable standardised data exchange, storage, and analysis. These protocols will not only address immediate challenges but also establish a foundation for future connections between astronomical science platforms globally. google slides
pdf
Simon O'Toole AAO Macquarie University AAO Data Central's adventures in the VO 12' Data Central is now a mature science platform with many different facets, including implementations of several IVOA standards. We offer IVOA services like TAP, SIA, SSA, SCS and DataLink, but also a service that aggregates a large range of IVOA services together for single objects of interest. In this talk, I will give an overview of how the IVOA has helped our journey to FAIR data, where we are hitting roadblocks, and some possible new directions. pdf
Yunfei Xu
China-VO
China-VO Science Platform 12' The China-VO science platform is a cloud-based platform that leverages modern infrastructure to facilitate diverse astronomical research. To ensure flexibility and scalability, we have adopted a microservice architecture, enabling the creation of independent applications within the platform. Our implementation incorporates various IVOA standards, which serve as the bedrock for seamless data access and visualization functionalities. In this presentation, we will highlight a compelling use case of the platform: the Time Domain Astronomical Information Centre (TDIC). By showcasing the TDIC, we aim to illustrate the exceptional features and capabilities of the China-VO science platform. PPTX
Omar Laurino
Chandra X-ray observatrory
CfA Nexus R&D 12' In this talk we present the Center for Astrophysics and Harvard & Smithsonian Research and Development effort to provide a multi-wavelength science platform catered to scientists across departments and wavelength domains. The effort is aimed at integrating heterogeneous data using IVOA standard protocols, as well as providing a platform for bringing astronomer's science close to the data, in preparation for the ambitious vision of enabling Peta-scale Astronomy through missions currently being developed at the Center for Astrophysics. pdf
All Discussion 30' Panel discussion covering the topics raised in the talks, with emphasis on the IVOA's role going forward.
What does the IVOA need to do next ?
pdf
Moderator: MarkTaylor, Notetaker: AdrianDamian

notes: ( link to live notes, should expire around end of June 2023)

Session II

Time: Thursday 11th May 14:0015:30 CEST [session #15]

Speaker Title Time Abstract Material
Vicente Navarro
ESA
ESA Datalabs, an Open Digital Platform for Innovation and Collaboration in Space Science 12' Nowadays, the sheer amount of data collected from space-borne and ground-based sensors, is changing dramatically past approaches towards data processing and storage. In the era of Big Data, Machine Learning and seamless collaboration, data transfers are being replaced by algorithm transfers and computation close to the data. Through a Software as a Service (SaaS) delivery model, ESA Datalabs leverages technologies such as, Docker, Kubernetes, JupyterLab and Data Science packages to implement a Digital Platform for innovation in Space Science. pdf
Mario Juric
University of Washington
HiPSCat: extending HiPS to for highly scalable large-scale catalog analyses 12' HiPSCat: Motivated by Rubin, we're developing a partitioned dataset format enabling distributed analysis, joins, and cross-matching of catalogs at PB+ scales. The aim is to enable analytics tools allowing users to perform joint, full-catalog, analyses on science platforms. We're looking for feedback and collaboration opportunities. pdf
Robert Nikutta
NOIRLab
NOIRLab's Astro Data Lab science platform 12' In six years of operations Data Lab has attracted over 2500 users. It hosts over 120TB of catalogs and 2+PB of images near compute resources. We are now also serving massive spectroscopic surveys including the imminent DESI EDR. R&D is under way to migrate some services to the cloud, beginning with the Jupyter notebook server. This talk will report on progress and challenges ahead. pdf
Brian Major
CADC
CANFAR Science Platform and the IVOA 12' The CANFAR Science Platform allows users to build, publish, and execute docker containers both interactively and programmatically. This has been a success, but challenges lay ahead through participation SKA SRCNet and the Vera C Rubin Observatory, where data and processing are geographically distributed and controlled by different institutes. We require mechanisms to allow this network of heterogeneous science platforms to work together. pdf
Gregory Dubois-Felsmann
Rubin observatory
Rubin observatory and the IVOA 5' Abstract TDB pdf
Dave Morris
Edinburgh University
Gaia Data Mining platform 5'' We are developing a data mining platform using Zeppelin and Spark to analyse data from Gaia. Our deployment provides local low-latency access to the Gaia data partitioned and formatted as Parquet files. We are interested in how we could describe and register and publish the Parquet formatted data and the service associated with it in the IVOA, enabling others to use our data and/or service. pdf
All Discussion 30' Panel discussion covering the topics raised in the talks, with emphasis on the IVOA's role going forward.
What does the IVOA need to do next ?
 
Moderator: KaiPolsterer, Notetaker: TBD

notes: ( link to live notes, should expire around end of June 2023)

* back to main programme page *

Topic attachments
I Attachment History Action Size Date Who Comment
PDFpdf 20230511-Gaia-DMp.pdf r1 manage 644.5 K 2023-05-11 - 09:26 DaveMorris Gaia data mining platform May 2023
PDFpdf 20230511-VN-ESADatalabs-IVOA-Bologna-2023.pdf r1 manage 14398.6 K 2023-05-12 - 04:58 ChristopheArviset  
PDFpdf AstroDataLab_RobertNikutta.pdf r1 manage 3162.5 K 2023-05-11 - 09:13 RobertNikutta Nikutta presentation on Astro Data Lab science platform May 2023
PDFpdf CANFAR_and_IVOA.pdf r1 manage 903.1 K 2023-05-11 - 10:06 BrianMajor  
PDFpdf Data_Centrals_adventures_in_the_VO.pdf r3 r2 r1 manage 21557.3 K 2023-05-09 - 07:07 SimonOToole  
PDFpdf IVOA-2023-Bologna-HiPSCat-6.pdf r1 manage 17567.1 K 2023-05-12 - 08:25 DaveMorris  
PDFpdf IVOA_interop_202305_Fornax.pdf r1 manage 1054.3 K 2023-05-08 - 17:40 TessJaffe Jaffe presentation on Fornax science platform for Interop May 2023
PDFpdf Rubin-IVOA-interests-v1.pdf r1 manage 254.1 K 2023-05-11 - 11:55 DaveMorris  
PDFpdf SciencePlatformQuestions.pdf r1 manage 142.5 K 2023-05-09 - 06:58 DaveMorris  
PDFpdf Science_Platforms_and_the_SRCNet.pdf r3 r2 r1 manage 4619.2 K 2023-05-09 - 06:43 JesusSalgado  
PDFpdf Science_Platforms_and_the_SRCNet_1.pdf r1 manage 4622.9 K 2023-05-09 - 06:30 JesusSalgado  
PDFpdf nexus.pdf r1 manage 11008.6 K 2023-05-09 - 06:37 MarkTaylor  
Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r31 < r30 < r29 < r28 < r27 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r31 - 2023-05-12 - XuYunfei
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by Perl This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platformCopyright © 2008-2023 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback